Instagram Test Results

Collecting all my Instagram behavior proved to be a lot more difficult and time consuming than I had anticipated, perhaps this is because I am spending a little too much time liking and posting pictures! Regardless, what I found was not too terribly surprising, but still proved to show some trends in my media behavior.

Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 7.02.40 PMScreen Shot 2014-10-02 at 7.03.01 PM

The first thing I tracked was who was liking my pictures. I was a little disappointed to see that very few of my family members liked my posts on Instagram. I’ve always kind of felt like you are obligated to like your family’s media posts, but I suppose this is not always the case! I was very surprised by the number of people liking my photos who are “People I just know.” I created this category in the sense that these are people I have never exchanged words with, but have possibly seen around from time to time. The number was exceptionally high compared to family and close friends. How are people who don’t even really know me liking my pictures when those who are supposedly near and dear to me are not? I do not really understand this phenomenon.

Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 7.05.05 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 7.04.28 PM,

On the contrary, when I collected my own data on the pictures I was liking I found that I was much more likely to like posts from people I followed on Instagram but did not know in real life. Maybe, just maybe, I was being  a tad bit hypocritical of my family.

Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 11.14.35 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 11.14.14 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-02 at 11.14.05 PM

After my test period was up I made a post asking followers why they had interacted with my recent content. This was actually the most fun data to collect! I had an overwhelming amount of followers report that they really liked my content because my photography was always something fun and creative and that they enjoyed the witty and humorous quotes. I’d be lying if I denied that this made me feel a little bit good about myself… I’d also be lying if I denied thinking long and hard about each caption before tapping the committal share button!

photo 23 photo 22 photo 20  photo 18 photo 14 photo 4 photo 5 photo 13 photo 21 photo 26

Another trend that I found noteworthy in my data was the types of pictures I was liking. It was actually pretty ironic; most of the pictures I liked were of food and the other majority of pictures were of something fitness related. Albeit a lot of the food was health food. I can definitely see the kind of lifestyle I like to live reflective in the content of the photographs I double tap. As you can see from several of the pictures I liked, I tend to follow some central themes: food, fitness, Chicago, and cute kids.

Leave a Reply

